查看完整版本: birding in Hokaido in Dec 2008

mclisa 2/01/2009 16:01

birding in Hokaido in Dec 2008

My friend and I had just spent 9 days in Hokkaido and planned four days (i.e. 27 Dec – 30 Dec 2008) in bird-watching.  As a beginner, I did not have much experience in making a detailed field report but hope the information may be useful to bird lovers who would visit Hokkaido someday.  The places we visited were mainly around Nemoro. The temperature was from minus 7 to minus 2 degree and the weather was quite good, sunny without snowing. The wind, however, sometimes blew heavily near the coast that we could hardly open our eyes.

27 Dec
Akan Kokusai Tsuru Centre-Tancho Observation Centre 阿寒丹頂之里
Red-crowned Crane
White-tailed Eagle
Black Kite
Dusky Thrush
Tree sparrow
Large-billed crow (They were seen everywhere in Hokkaido)

鶴見台
Red-crowned Crane
We could see them flying above our head in the sunset.  

28 Dec
Kushiro City Marsh Observatory 釧路濕原展望台
We went there to see the overview of the Kushiro Marsh and spent just a few minutes without any record of bird.

Akkeshi Waterfowl Observation Centre 厚岸水鳥觀察館
Mallard
Harlequin Duck
Common Merganser
Whooper Swan (There were many of them, both in juvenile and adult plumage)
Black Kite
Slaty-backed Gull
Glaucous Gull
Tree Sparrow
Large-billed Crow

Kiritappu 霧多布岬
Cormorant (We did not know the species by then as we are not familiar with their differences.)
Black Scoter
Peregine Falcon
Slaty-blacked Gull
Glaucous Gull
Tree sparrow
Large-billed Crow

29 Dec
Lake Furen 風蓮湖 – Shunkunitai春國岱
Whooper Swan
Eurasian Nuthatch
Great Tit
Marsh Tit
Glaucous Gull
Slaty-backed Gull
Tree Sparrow
Large-billed Crow

Lake Furen 風蓮湖 – 白鳥台 (no English translation could be found, sorry.)
Whooper Swan
Steller’s Sea Eagle
Glaucous Gull
Slaty-backed Gull
Tree Sparrow
Large-billed Crow

Attoko- 厚床 (a path in forest)
Steller’s Sea Eagle
Lesser Spotted Woodpecker
Brown ear Bulbul
Marsh Tit
Glaucous Gull
Slaty-backed Gull
Tree Sparrow
Large-billed Crow