BBS BBS Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register English | 中文
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Jul 4th, 2024, 9:18am

HKBWS BBS 香 港 觀 鳥 會 新 聞 組
   Discussion Area 討論區
   Bird Identification 鳥類辨識
(Moderators: Yat-tung YU, BBS Moderators)
   Egrets on Green Island, near Kennedy Town
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Egrets on Green Island, near Kennedy Town  (Read 1001 times)
Forrest FONG
BBS Administrator

I love Bird Watching!

Email

Egrets on Green Island, near Kennedy Town
« on: Jun 1st, 2005, 8:58pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Below is a message received by HKBWS for bird ID. Anyone please help!

What kind of birds is on Green Island right now? Is it a special Species

Dear Sir,

I am not a professional bird watcher but am interested.

I am living in Kennedy Town overlooking Green Island, recently there are big group of birds gathering on Green Island. I use a 380x binocular to see them and quite sure they are some kind of Egret. There size is quite big, I think at least 3 feet tall.

I found on the internet, the species of Egret on Green Island should be Pacific Reef Egret, but however, they should be darkish grey in color, the group I found is pure white. Also, Pacific Reef Egret should appear single or small group, the group I found on Green Island is more than 500.

I am anxious to hear from you because maybe they will move very soon.

Best Regards

Michael Tsui
« Last Edit: Jun 9th, 2005, 8:04pm by Koel_Ko » Logged

FF
Little Dolphin
BBS Member
BBS God

Man and Nature, harmony forever

Email

Re: What kind of birds is on Green Island right no
« Reply #1 on: Jun 2nd, 2005, 10:46am »

Maybe little egret?

Little egret is a bit small for the size described by Mr Tsui, but they are commonly seen flying above Victoria Harbour. They also aggregate in large colonies in egretries. Perhaps there are egretries on Green Island.