BBS BBS Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register English | 中文
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Jul 5th, 2024, 4:24am

HKBWS BBS 香 港 觀 鳥 會 新 聞 組
   Discussion Area 討論區
   Photo Gallery 相片分享 I
(Moderators: BBS Moderators, Kwok Jai, George_Ho, carmen, Forrest FONG)
   Great Egret 大白鷺
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Great Egret 大白鷺  (Read 894 times)
antonio
BBS Member
BBS Newbie

I want to FLY!

Great Egret 大白鷺
« on: Nov 27th, 2003, 11:01pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

016 Great Egret 大白
Luk Keng Temple 鹿頸 觀音廟
22/11/2003
Nikon F100 + Sigma 50-500mm f/6.3

I don't know why but there seems to be something wrong with the lens -> very serious grey corners on photos even without lens hood.

This is my first time posting photos here. As there are so many experts here, I would like to get your advice about buying a better lens

I would like to buy a tele lens that is fast enough to capture (i.e. using auto-focus) flying birds. However with limited budget, I am thinking about the following options:

Expensive options:
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8 IS USM + 1.4x or 2x  
Sigma 500mm f/4.5 HSM

Economy options:
Canon EF 300mm f/4 IS USM + 1.4x
Canon EF 100-400mm f/5.6 IS USM

Any advice is much appreciated

http://www.geocities.com/antcheng334/egret.html
« Last Edit: May 20th, 2004, 5:43pm by BBS Moderators » Logged
Anguslau
BBS Member
BBS God

I love bird watching!

Re: Egret 白鷺
« Reply #1 on: Nov 28th, 2003, 9:16pm »

Hi Antonio,

I am no expert in bird photog, in fact I am a beginner as well (only started for a few months). But since I did quite a bit of research on this topic and also owned a 300 f2.8, I can share some of my thoughts.

Don't know about the Sigma, so no comment on that one.